Open Records & Information Access
All persons are entitled by law to factual information in the possession of the Department of Safety and Professional Services, including records created or received by Department of Safety and Professional Services and its employees in connection with the transaction of public business. See WI Stat. Ch. 19.31-39.
A request must be reasonably specific as to subject matter and length of time involved. Continuing requests are not permitted.
Certain information and records are exempted from open records requirements. When the requested records are not provided, the Department shall provide specific and sufficient reasons in writing for the denial.
The most efficient method of requesting and receiving records is by filling out an online Open Records Request. Requests may also be directed to the Department of Safety and Professional Services's Custodian of Record, at DSPSPublicRecords@Wisconsin.gov .
Department of Safety and Professional Services records are available for inspection and copying during normal business hours in Department of Safety and Professional Services offices, unless other hours are posted. Except for legal holidays, those hours are: Monday-Friday: 7:45 AM to 4:30 PM
Department of Safety and Professional Services gives requests high priority and provides requested records "as soon as practicable and without delay". A reasonable time for response to any specific request depends on the nature of the request, the staff and other resources available to the authority to process the request, the extent of the request, and related considerations. Although the public records law does not require response within any specific time, records are generally available within ten working days.
Department of Safety and Professional Services charges the actual, necessary and direct costs for copies of records, which are established in SPS 302.02 as follows:
Where the total cost of fees exceeds $5.00, the Department shall get approval from the requestor with respect to the fees associated with the request prior to incurring any costs associated with the request.
Where the total cost of fees exceeds $5.00, prepayment may be required.
More Information about Wisconsin's Open Records Law
If you have questions about this page, contact Department of Safety and Professional Services at (DSPSPublicRecords@Wisconsin.gov)